Updated schedule: Red Bull Global Rallycross season opens in Buffalo; Louisville dropped


The Red Bull Global Rallycross announced a schedule change on Thursday, as it will kick off the 2018 season June 9-10 at Lancaster National Speedway in Buffalo, New York.

Buffalo replaces Louisville as the season-opening event for the series. A stop at Louisville — originally scheduled for May 9-10 and was announced in a Jan. 4 press release — has been dropped from the 2018 calendar. 

“Lancaster National Speedway will be an exciting addition to this year’s schedule as we kick off our first event of the season with both a doubleheader and a new venue,” said Red Bull GRC CEO Colin Dyne in a press release. “The location is perfectly suited for all our rallycross fans in the Northeast.”

When contacted by Autoweek, the GRC issued the following statement regarding the dropping of Louisville: “Due to logistical challenges and scheduling conflicts, the 2018 Red Bull Global Rallycross season opener has been moved to Buffalo. The season will remain at 12 rounds with the expansion of Los Angeles to a doubleheader event. The series hopes to return to Louisville in 2019.”

Just four of the series’ 2017 host cities (Indianapolis, Atlantic City, Seattle and Los Angeles) return to the 2018 schedule. Last year’s schedule kicked off April 29 in Memphis.

Revised 2018 Red Bull Global Rallycross schedule

Rounds 1-2: Buffalo, N.Y. (June 9-10)*
Round 3: New Orleans (June 23-24)
Rounds 4-5: Los Angeles (July 7-8)*
Rounds 6-7: Indianapolis (August 11-12)*
Rounds 8-9: Atlantic City, New Jersey (August 25-26)*
Round 10: Seattle (September 15-16)
Rounds 11-12: Lydden Hill, U.K. (October 27-28)*

*indicates doubleheader

Mike Pryson

Mike Pryson

– Mike Pryson covered auto racing for the Jackson (Mich.) Citizen Patriot and M-Live Media Group from 1991 until joining Autoweek as online motorsports editor In 2012. Promoted to motorsports editor in 2015.

See more by this author»

Facebook Comments

Comments are closed.